Rassenfosse’s house unveiled
On 8th and 9th September 2012, Heritage Days in Wallonia will honour famous Belgians and foreigners who have in some way marked the lives of their fellow citizens.
Armand Rassenfosse (1862-1934), the Liege painter and engraver, was one of those personalities who had an impact in his time. Together with Félicien Rops he invented a soft varnish, called Ropsenfosse, which permitted the art of engraving to be more refined.
Rassenfosse’s house-studio is in Liege, at 366 Rue St Gilles. Built in 1899, it was designed by his architect friend Paul Jaspar (1859-1945), another important Liege personality. Rassenfosse lived with his family and worked in the house for 35 years. The building is characterized by a combination of traditional, so-called Mosane architecture but also the imperatives of modern construction. The house was the first – and the most convincing – example of Liege regionalism, which had its moment of glory during the phase of reconstruction that immediately followed the First World War. Donated to the King Baudouin Foundation by the painter’s granddaughter, Claire, the house and studio have been listed in their entirety since 20 February 2009.
This imposing building will open its doors to the general public for the very first time on 8th and 9th September this year. Visitors will be able to discover the imposing hall leading to a mezzanine, the sitting room, dining room and the amazing stone staircase that leads to the studio (inaccessible to the public). The architectural plans, kept at the Centre d’Archives et de Documentation de la Commission Royale des Monuments, Sites et Fouilles, will also be on show.
Saturday 8 September 10h00 to 18h00
Sunday 9 September 10h00 to 17h00
Guided visits every 30 minutes from 10h30